As one of the oldest properties in Ontario and one of the last regency-style-architecture building of its kind, Riverest is a hidden gem that is finally becoming open to the public. “Riverest” is the original name of the bi-centennial stone house, built by The Marston’s in 1833, on top of the hill at the end of Wharf street, in the heart of downtown L’Orignal. This breathtaking 2.3-acres property overlooks the L’Orignal marina, the Ottawa river, La Rouge beach and the Laurentian Mountains.
The Riverest’s vision is composed of a marina, water sport rentals, a restaurant, cottages and room rentals, plus the possibility of hosting events among other venues and activities. It will become a place where locals and tourists can eat, play and stay. Riverest will cater to boaters, cyclists, motorcyclists, drive-through visitors, weekenders and vacationers. It intends to offer an experience in a historical rural setting — with a range of activities such as dining out and enjoying the river — as well as a place to simply relax and enjoy amazing views and beautiful sunsets.